348

There are 348 days left in this year and 2017 has been a blast so far. Wesley and I decided to start a few habits towards the end of December last year and I’m so glad that we’ve carried these habits on this year.

1. Meditate Daily

Wesley urged me to meditate daily, and I find myself more calm and self-aware throughout the day. I also read somewhere that “if you can’t find 10 minutes to meditate, maybe you need 2 hours” and I literally laughed out loud. I use that as a reminder whenever I find myself overwhelmed and coming up with excuses not to meditate. That line always does the trick.

Check out: https://www.calm.com/

2. Read Nightly

My best purchase in December was a Kindle and I’ve been glued to it ever since. I read on the bus/train, while I walk (if I can text and walk, I can read and walk haha!), and nightly before bedtime. I’ve already finished Tools of Titans by Tim Ferriss and am onto my second book this year. I still don’t understand how people can finish a book a week. I’m already reading whenever I can find the time and it still took me 2 weeks. Doesn’t help that I always have to take notes.

I bought my Kindle (8th Gen) for S$109 from Lazada.

3. Hike Weekly

Every weekend, Wesley and I have been hiking, with each session lasting about 2.5 to 3 hours. We usually walk or jog to Dairy Farm to hike. Occasionally we do a loop back and jog home. Otherwise, we’ll just hike straight to Bukit Timah and have breakfast there. I first started hiking 3 years back, and I think there’s an unexplainable beauty about being immersed in nature, and the constant reminder of how small we are in this Universe. The best part of every hike, is when we tell each other to “finish strong”, so even if my muscles are burning, I run through the burn, and you just finish the hike feeling so empowered.

It’s also very refreshing to leave behind our phones, and just enjoy each others’ company for 2.5 hours. I’ve become less anxious about needing my phone with me all the time, telling myself repeatedly that “whatever it is, it can wait”.

Leave a Reply

