Of Notebooks

Okay I usually am not so careless but it happened – I misplaced one of my notebooks while on a work trip. I instantly went into panic mode, it was definitely a fond memory shared between Jordus and myself. FYI Jor, you can only tease me about this 10 years from now. I need 10 years to heal this wound! Hahaha!

I am now on my third Moleskine notebook and while writing in it tonight, a thought popped in my head. Does anyone else out there re-read their old journals like I do? I note down almost everything – my thoughts on life and work, important/relevant quotes, goals I’ve set for myself, etc. My journals even contain notes and summaries of books I’ve read (I read actively, not passively, meaning I almost always have to have a notebook with me while I read). I get so much joy out of reading my past journals simply because they continue to inspire me to this day. I enjoy reading my blog too, but the very nature of journals (private, more intimate, etc.) make them a lot more personal. For what it’s worth, I hope my blog inspires you, so here’s a snippet from an old journal (the one I lost but recovered just 4 days ago):

Some day, in the years to come, you will be wrestling with the great temptation, or trembling under the great sorrow of your life. But the real struggle is here, now. Now it is being decided whether, in the day of your supreme sorrow or temptation, you shall miserably fail or gloriously conquer. Character cannot be made except by a steady, long continued process. — Phillips Brooks

One thought on “Of Notebooks

  1. I don’t have a physical journal, but I’ve always been fastidiously writing, noting things down, collecting quotes. And re-reading them from time to time (what’s the point of writing all this done if you’re not gonna read it again, right?) 🙂

Leave a Reply

