Exercise

I know, exercise is all I obsess about these days. I read somewhere that it takes 21 days to program a habit and somehow I’m starting to believe it’s true. Some self-kudos in this post. For starters, I’ve not had bubble tea since 23 July and I don’t really crave for bubble tea anymore (OMG RIGHT?). I used to have a cup of bubble tea every 2 days (or worse, there were weeks where I had 1 cup per day), and yet now it’s super easy for me just to refuse. I don’t even need to think about saying no, there’s no debate in my mind now, I just say no.

I’ve also been going to the gym regularly since August and I now find it weird if I don’t go to the gym for more than 2 days. It’s as if something’s not right for that day. I used to whine about putting my running shoes on, but now I look at my schedule and try to find a way to squeeze in a good hour for exercise. I’ll even intentionally have my dinner early just so I can hit the gym right after fetching my mom home from work.

I think this is probably the most disciplined I’ve ever been with my health/fitness. I used to exercise a lot growing up but it wasn’t really because I wanted to stay fit, it was because I was having fun and I figured it was a “free pass” to eat anything I wanted. And of course I did, what with McDonald’s and bubble tea a few times a week.

So this week I set myself a little challenge – to work out every single day with no fast food the entire week. I’ve been guilty of ordering McDonald’s right after a run so I figured it’s a good challenge. It’s Thursday already and I’ve clocked 21.1km at the gym with no fast food (trust me, I was tempted) so it’s a pretty good week. I’ve a few “inspiring/motivational” quotes that I look at to pump myself up and get my ass out of the house. I figured they don’t just apply to exercise/fitness, they can pass as life-ish quotes too.

Discipline is just choosing between what you want now and what you want the most.

What comes easy won’t last, what lasts won’t come easy.

If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.

And at the end of a tiring workout

Here’s to getting up tomorrow and doing it all again.

2 thoughts on “Exercise

  1. Hi,

    Nice to know you are motivated for the past few months to exercise. From the post, it seems so far so good. You have been making good steps forward.

    I am a Fitness Personal Trainer myself. Mind if I give 2 cents worth?

    1) One sentence in your post bothers me a bit – “to work out every single day… the entire week”. It is good that you are pushing yourself hard to train. However, there is a term called “OVERTRAINING” (You can google it..). As a personal trainer myself, I do not want people to encounter this. Because it will not only have a negative effect on your workout, it might reverse your self-motivation on exercising if it gets too serious.

    What I’m trying to say here is as much as you want to find time to exercise, you have to slot in rest days in between as well. Only then, will you be fresh enough once the next session comes.

    2) I am presuming once you enter the gym, the first thing you do is to hit the treadmills? (since you mentioned you already clocked 21.1km in the gym). Running is good for your general cardiovascular fitness. However, there are other more effective and efficient ways to improve your stamina, mobility, strength and burning fat.

    It is hard to explain all just in words here, but this is something you can think about moving forward.

    I’m not trying to sell my service or anything here, just happen to see your post and thought I just share with you my thoughts. Feel free to ask me should you have any questions. I’ll be glad to talk more with you.

    Take care,
    Desmond
    fitnessthree60.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

