Father’s Day

I don’t really have memories of Father’s Day. My mom isn’t a huge fan of any celebrations so I think the only memory of me buying a gift for my dad was a wallet stuffed with my remaining “life savings” of $2 – and I can’t even remember if it was for his birthday or father’s day. Oh, how much I’d give just for a few more years with him.

Anyway, I figured I’d write bout how life without a dad feels like. This is like post-Krabi self-reflection moment. Hahahaha. So here goes. Life without a dad.

I learned how to be independent really young, fixing things around the house, doing stuff for the family. I stopped being a girly-girl, because girly-girls are weak. I stopped wanting things because my mom’s the only one earning money. My saddest memory was seeing my friends get picked up after school, knowing that I’ll never be picked up from school. So I learned how to push my emotions way down.

But it’s not all that bad. Because after you’re done feeling sad, you become stronger. As they say, when the going gets tough, the tough gets going. And as memories slowly fade, I know that I’m here today with a hell of a mom.

So yes mom, HAPPY FATHER’S DAY! Hahahaha

Leave a Reply

