What do you want to be remembered for?

I’ve been thinking about this question the whole of yesterday and today. Ok it’s not so much about what I want to be remembered for when I die, but more of… what do I want people to think of me after interacting with me.

So we often read about people who’ve done great things, led great companies. We read about all their greatness, but somehow I wonder if they’re really this “great” in person. This whole issue kept bugging me because, in the course of business, you can’t always be the nice guy. And of course, if and when the business gets big, then how do I want to portray myself as a leader? Am I going to be nice or fierce? Close or distant?

Another reason why I kept thinking about this was cos I figured at some point in time, I’d need to hire someone. And of course, when hiring someone, how he/she fits in with the company culture matters too. So what kinda culture am I going to  create? I don’t really know for sure. But based on how much I can’t stand incompetent people, it might just be a culture of excellence. Hahahaha. Ok I kid, I’m still a nice person – at least outside of business.

Leave a Reply

