Tattoos

Gonna do a quick post before I run off to bed. Chanced upon this article on a man who painfully removed the tattoos on his face in the hope of starting his life anew. And while reading this article, I was instantly reminded of my late father, and can’t help thinking that yes, people can change for the better. I’m not saying they will for sure, but that they can. I was brought up by one who did anyway.

My dad wasn’t an extremist like the guy in the article, but my dad wasn’t a goody two shoes either. He had a huge dragon tattoo on his back and had smaller tattoos on both arms – just high enough so a sleeve hides it. According to my mom, my dad was a bad boy, an ah beng of sorts. But he too, changed after he started a family. And when I was 11 or 12, my dad decided to remove his tattoos. The laser surgery wasn’t cheap of course, and we didn’t have a lot of money back then. But he was determined to go for it, because, and I quote, “I want to be able to swim with my two daughters”.

When I was a kid, my sister, my cousins and I would go swimming every weekend. My dad occasionally went with us, but he didn’t want my relatives to see his tattoos so he never ever took of his shirt, and of course, he never went into the water with us. Unfortunately, he passed away from cancer even before he was done with the tattoo removal, and he never got his chance to swim with us.

But it didn’t matter to me or my sis that my dad had tattoos. Underneath it all, he was a great father and a great friend. I know that for a fact cos each year his work friends still pool money to write him an obituary, and each time I converse with my relatives and the topic led to my dad, they’ll say he was a good man. So yes, a bad boy can become an awesome father. He just has to have the determination to change. And my dad did.

Leave a Reply

